Duke of Edinburgh

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is an international scheme encouraging independence and self-reliance, which is open to young people aged between 14 and 25. The scheme has three levels; Bronze, Silver and Gold. Participants need to complete an expedition, provide a service for the community and learn (or improve on) a skill and a physical activity or sport.

At Withington, the Gold award is available to members of the Sixth Form. This involves at least two training walks and a practice expedition during the year, followed by a 4-day expedition and a residential project. While most girls have completed the Bronze award in Upper Fourth (Year 9) and the Silver award in Fifth Form (Years 10 & 11), it is possible for members of the Sixth Form to enter the Award Scheme at Gold level.


Some girls who particularly enjoy the service section of their Award may
choose to complete 200 hours of voluntary work over 12 months to
qualify as a Millennium Volunteer. Most of the girls enjoy the teamwork
throughout the year and the physical and mental challenges of the
  Link to Mr Snowden’s D of E Information website (opens in new window)
 General Enrolment Documents
 Click here to download an enrolment form for the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award
 Click here to download the form to be returned with your completed Gold record book
 Equipment Lists
 Day walk Equipment list.pdf
 Expedition Equipment list.pdf



Latest Sixth Form News

View all Sixth Form news